CIS HOLDING

CIS Holding AG specializes in the analysis and research of complex financial products, in particular Collateralized Loan Obligations (CLOs). In this context, CIS Holding counts the analysis and determination of the Alpha-generating components, the peer group analysis based on this, various evaluation models and reporting to its areas of responsibility.
>> More information

ADVANCE THROUGH KNOWLEDGE

“We only invest in what we understand.”
CIS Holding AG is a financial services boutique in the area of research and analysis of structured credit products, in particular collateralized loan obligations (CLOs).

ORGANIZATION

CIS Holding AG (CHE - 269.509.579), based in CH - 8808 Pfäffikon, Switzerland, was founded in November 2012 and has been active since February 2014. 

Among other things, CIS Holding AG acts as the parent (company) of CIS Asset Management (Deutschland) GmbH (https://cisasset.com), a financial services provider regulated by the German Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin).
CIS Holding AG specializes in the analysis and research of complex financial products, in particular Collateralized Loan Obligations (CLOs). In this context, CIS Holding counts the analysis and determination of the Alpha-generating components, the peer group analysis based on this, various evaluation models and reporting to its areas of responsibility.

Team

Paavo Bartsch

Paavo Bartsch

Paavo joined CIS Holding AG in 2018 and is head of sales of the CIS - Group. Paavo also serves as a member of the Board of Directors of CIS Holding AG. He specialises on institutional and professional clients as well as the related client support.

Inès Bartsch

Inès joined CIS Holding AG in 2014 and serves as Chief Executive Officer of the CIS - Group. She is focusing on the analysis/performance evaluation of CLOs as well as the CLO manager due diligence. Inès holds a B.A. in Economics from the University of Buckingham.
Ines Bartsch

RESEARCH AND ANALYSES

PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT MODEL

The Portfolio Management Model is the internal master tool for CIS, as it combines the features of all other below described analysis models. Its purpose is to control and monitor special key indicators of a portfolio as well as to enable us structuring and ramping-up new portfolios.
With the Portfolio Management Model, one can validate for instance the effect of a new investment on the overall portfolio level.
It also serves as a risk management tool on a portfolio basis in order to be able to model various scenarios. Further, this tool is used to prepare different investor-specific reports.

EVALUATION MODEL

With the help of the Evaluation Model one can model a CLO with all its subtleties, such as the cost and fee structure as well as the various concentration limits under ceteris paribus assumptions. The model is used to forecast future cash flows and to determine their sustainability. Both market data and various manager-specific Alpha indicators serve as input indicators.

PEER GROUP ANALYSIS

The Peer Group Analysis makes it possible to compare the various Manager Signatures or their Alpha components (risk and performance indicators) both against market data and against each other, manager against manager and with other internally defined universes.
It is possible to set a weighting for individual indicators, depending on individual preferences, and to derive an internal ranking accordingly.

MANAGER SIGNATURE

One proprietary analysis tool is called Manager Signature, in which different Alpha indicators (both risk and performance indicators) are analysed on a monthly basis.
The cleaned data from the monthly trustee reports serve as input data (please see Proprietary Data Base).
CIS maintains of each evaluated manager on average 4 to 6 of those Manager Signatures with a minimum history of 60 months. The manager-specific indicators can often be traced back to the period prior the Great Financial Crisis.
The purpose of the Manager Signatures is to quantitatively process and understand the behaviour of a CLO manager or his team over the maximum period of time.

PROPRIETARY DATA BASE

The CIS Proprietary Data Base forms the core of each of our analyses. On the one hand, it includes the raw data from monthly trustee reports, the usually quarterly available payment reports (Note Valuation Reports) and, on the other hand, indenture and offering memorandum of each CLO.
For the later analysis, raw data is elaborately cleaned up in various steps and brought into a uniform format. As raw data are often error-prone, they are always checked for plausibility, mathematical logic and completeness, partly automatically but also manually.
"

Our mission

At CIS, we are very research-focused and attach great importance to our own analysis and data base. Our approach dates back to 1999. We learned that only conscious dealing with risks of any kind - especially in the credit sector - requires a high degree of monitoring, reassessment as well as a clearly defined risk management process.
Hence, we have developed a highly sophisticated approach based on proprietary analysis tools and established it within the framework of CIS CARE (CIS CLO Analytical and Research Engine). We are continuously revising our proprietary tools in order to adjust to the current market conditions as well tracing new Alpha indices.

SERVICES

Monitoring / Reporting

Given that we have a sufficient data base or being supplied with a complete data set, we are able to monitor various risk and performance indices, report cash flows, identify and correct wrong payments as well as project cash flows.
The reporting is available in frequencies chosen by the client (for instance monthly, quarterly or semi-annually). This service is offered at a fixed fee per position.

Valuation

We generate mark-to-model CLO valuations based on individual assumptions. We offer this service for a fixed fee per position.

Securitization

We have established a securitization company in Luxembourg which can issue securities on an underlying portfolio or build a portfolio with multiple issuances. The securities may be designed individually as long as they satisfy current law. Each issue out of this securitization vehicle is "ring fenced" i.e. independent and not liable for other issuances of the company. Auditors are Ernst & Young Luxembourg.
CIS Holding AG 
COPYRIGHT © 2021
Webdesign Sundern f5.design
hello world!
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram

CIS HOLDING

Die CIS Holding AG hat sich auf die Analyse und das Research von komplexen Finanzvehikeln, insbesondere Collateralized Loan Obligations (CLOs) spezialisiert. In diesem Zusammenhang zählt die CIS Holding unter anderem die Analyse und das Bestimmen der Alpha-generierenden Komponenten, die hierauf basierende Vergleichsgruppenanalyse, diverse Bewertungsmodelle sowie das Reporting zu ihren Aufgabenbereichen.
>> Mehr Informationen

VORSPRUNG DURCH WISSEN

„Wir investieren nur in das, was wir verstehen.“
Die CIS Holding AG ist eine Finandienstleistungs-Boutique im Bereich Research und Analyse von strukturierten Kreditprodukten, insbesondere Collateralized Loan Obligations (CLOs).

UNTERNEHMEN

Die CIS Holding AG (CHE – 269.509.579), mit Sitz in CH - 8808 Pfäffikon, Schweiz, wurde im November 2012 gegründet und ist seit Februar 2014 aktiv. 

Die CIS Holding AG fungiert unter anderem als Mutter(-gesellschaft) der CIS Asset Management (Deutschland) GmbH (https://cisasset.com), ein durch die Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin) regulierter Finanzdienstleister.
Die CIS Holding AG hat sich auf die Analyse und das Research von komplexen Finanzvehikeln, insbesondere Collateralized Loan Obligations (CLOs) spezialisiert. In diesem Zusammenhang zählt das Familienunternehmen unter anderem die Analyse und das Bestimmen der Alpha-generierenden Komponenten, die hierauf basierende Vergleichsgruppenanalyse, diverse Bewertungsmodelle sowie das Reporting zu ihren Aufgabenbereichen.

Team

Paavo Bartsch

Paavo Bartsch

Paavo kam 2018 zur CIS Holding AG und ist Vertriebsleiter der CIS - Gruppe. Paavo ist auch Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates der CIS Holding AG. Er ist spezialisiert auf institutionelle und professionelle Kunden sowie die damit verbundene Kundenbetreuung.

Inès Bartsch

Inès kam 2014 zur CIS Holding AG und ist Geschäftsführerin der CIS - Gruppe. Ihr Fokus liegt hauptsächlich auf der Analyse von CLOs sowie der Due Diligence der CLO-Manager. Inès hat einen Bachelorabschluss in Wirtschaftswissenschaften von der University of Buckingham.
Ines Bartsch

RESEARCH UND ANALYSEN

PORTFOLIOMANAGEMENT MODELL

Das Portfoliomanagement Modell dient zur Kontrolle, Überwachung und zum Aufsetzen / Strukturieren eines Portfolios.
Als Inputdaten dienen die Auswertungen aus den unterschiedlichen Analysen der Managersignaturen, des Bewertungsmodells sowie der Vergleichsgruppenanalyse.
Mit dem Portfoliomanagement Modell kann man z. B. den Effekt einer Neuinvestition auf Gesamtportfolioebene simulieren. Des Weiteren dient es auf Portfoliobasis auch als Risikomanagementtool, um diverse Szenarien modellieren zu können. Dieses Modell wird ebenfalls verwendet, um unterschiedliche, z. B. investorenspezifische Reports zu erstellen.

BEWERTUNGSMODELL

Mit Hilfe des Bewertungsmodells kann man einen CLO mit dessen ganzen Feinheiten, wie z. B. Kosten- und Gebührenstruktur sowie den diversen Konzentrations-grenzen, unter der ceteris paribus Annahme nachmodellieren.
Das Modell dient dazu, die zukünftigen Zahlungsströme prognostizieren zu können sowie deren Nachhaltigkeit festzustellen.
Als Inputindikatoren dienen sowohl Marktdaten als auch verschiedene managerspezifische Alpha-Indikatoren.

VERGLEICHSGRUPPENANALYSE

Die Vergleichsgruppen-analyse ermöglicht es, die diversen Managersignaturen bzw. deren Alpha-Komponenten (Risiko- und Performance-indikatoren) sowohl mit Marktdaten als auch untereinander, Manager gegen Manager sowie mit weiteren intern definierten Universen zu vergleichen.
Es ist möglich, eine Gewichtung, je nach Präferenz, für einzelne Indikatoren festzulegen und hierauf basierend, ein internes Ranking abzuleiten.

MANAGERSIGNATUR

Als Managersignatur wird ein firmeninternes Analysetool bezeichnet, in dem auf monatlicher Basis unterschiedliche Alpha-Indikatoren (sowohl Risiko- als auch Performanceindikatoren) analysiert werden.
Als Inputdaten dienen die bereinigten Daten aus den monatlichen Depotbankauszügen (vgl. Firmeneigene Datenbank).
Von jedem bewerteten Manager existieren durchschnittlich 4 bis 6 solcher Managersignaturen mit einer Mindesthistorie von 60 Monaten. Oftmals können die managerspezifischen Indikatoren bis in den Zeitraum vor die Weltfinanzkrise zurückverfolgt werden.
Der Zweck dieser sogenannten Managersignaturen ist, das Verhalten eines Managers bzw. seines Teams über den maximalen Zeitraum quantitativ aufarbeiten und nachvollziehen zu können.

FIRMENEIGENE DATENBANK

Die CIS Datenbank bildet das Kernstück jeder unserer Analysen. Sie umfasst einerseits die Rohdaten aus den monatlichen Depotbankauszügen, die i.d.R. vierteljährlichen Zahlungsauszüge (Note Valuation Reports) sowie andererseits die Vertragswerke (engl. Indenture und Offering Memorandum) eines jeden CLOs.
Zur späteren Analyse werden die Rohdaten in verschiedenen Schritten aufwendig bereinigt und in ein einheitliches Format gebracht. Da die Rohdaten oftmals fehlerbehaftet sind, werden die Daten immer auf ihre Plausibilität, mathematische Logik und Vollständigkeit, teils automatisiert sowie manuell, geprüft. 
"

Unsere Mission

Wir bei CIS sind sehr Research fokussiert und legen einen grossen Wert auf unsere eigene Analyse- und Datenbank. Diesen Ansatz leben wir als Familienunternehmen bereits seit 1999. Wir haben gelernt, dass nur der bewusste Umgang mit Risiken jeder Art, speziell im Kreditgeschäft, zum gewünschten Ziel führt. Ausnahmslos wird ein hohes Mass an Aufarbeitung, Überwachung und ein klar definiertes Risikomanagement benötigt.
Aus diesen Gründen haben wir einen hochentwickelten Ansatz basierend auf proprietären Analysetools ausgearbeitet, und im Rahmen von CIS CARE (CIS CLO Analytical and Research Engine) etabliert. Wir überarbeiten ständig unsere firmeneigenen Tools, um diese an die aktuellen Marktbedingungen anzupassen und neue Alpha-Indikatoren zu recherchieren.

DIENSTLEISTUNGEN

Monitoring / Reporting

Unter der Voraussetzung, dass wir eine ausreichende Datenbasis geliefert bekommen (oder bereits haben), können wir bei Portfolios im ABS Bereich - speziell CLOs - die Zahlungsströme sowie diverse Risiko- und Performanceindikatoren betreffend verfolgen und reporten, falsche Zahlungen anmahnen und Korrekturvorschläge unterbreiten sowie eine Cash-Flow Prognose erstellen.
Je nach Kundenwunsch wird die Frequenz (beispielsweise monatlich, vierteljährlich oder halbjährlich) angepasst. Diese Dienstleistungen bieten wir zu einer festen Gebühr pro Position an.

Bewertung

Im CLO Bereich können wir ebenfalls Mark-to-Model Bewertungen basierend auf den individuellen Annahmen des Kunden erstellen. Diese Dienstleistung bieten wir zu einer festen Gebühr pro Position an.

Securitization / Verbriefung

Wir haben eine Verbriefungsgesellschaft nach Luxemburger Recht gegründet, die Wertpapiere, denen ein Portfolio zu Grunde liegt oder aufgebaut werden soll, emittieren kann. Die Ausstattung der Wertpapiere kann individuell gestaltet werden, sofern sie geltendem Recht entsprechen. Jede Emission aus der Verbriefungsgesellschaft stellt ein unabhängiges Vermögen (Kompartiment) dar, welches de facto nicht für andere Emissionen haftet. Wirtschaftsprüfer ist aktuell Ernst & Young Luxemburg.
CIS Holding AG 
COPYRIGHT © 2021
Webdesign Sundern f5.design
hello world!
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram